Posted in Motherhood, Parenting

That’s My Son’s Name

At any point of our lives, even once, there are bound to be things that we do that our parents disapprove of, no matter how old we are.

As for me, I’m pretty used to have my parents disapprove of things that I do because being the rebel that I am, I do things that I like, when I like and how I like it. This, more often than not, has caused quite a stir between me and my parents more than I can count. For as long as I can remember, there are always things that I do that will incur either the wrath or grunts of disapprovals from my parents.

I can safely say that the latest disapproval from my parents is about my son’s name.

Ever since I first told them that Mohen and I would be naming our son Eros, they have been openly disapproving of our decision. So much that my father disagrees on our decision, he has not hold Eros since the day he was born. I am not offended by his gesture because I have had more than a few episodes of resentments towards my father that it has taught me to be indifferent to him. But it is rather sad for Eros because it wasn’t as if he doesn’t have a grandfather that he didn’t have one to hold him, even once.

My father find it unsettling to call another person by another god’s name because in Islam, there is no other God except Allah. I absolutely get his/their point of view because in my hearts of heart, I do believe that there is no other God than Allah but that doesn’t change that fact at all by me naming my son Eros, one of the gods in Greek mythology.

If you know me, then you would know how head-strong and absurdly stubborn I can be. Despite getting disapprovals from almost everyone in my family, I do things I like, when I like and how I like it. I can take all the long talks and tolerate all the remarks made about me but I will stick to what I want to do once I decide to do it.

Before I was all maternal and family-oriented, I used to think that I will only settle down if I’m bored with life and if I will ever have a son, I will name him Eros. Now that I’ve settled down with someone, not because I’m bored with life but I want to spend my life with him and have a son with him, it’s only natural that I name our son Eros.

During school days, I was (and still am) a very passionate literature student and no more I have ever been passionate than I was (am) about Greek mythology. I can spend all the time in the world reading and researching and memorizing all the Greek gods and their stories. I have a few favorite gods because I love how their stories ran and Eros is one of my ultimate favorites. For me, his character albeit somewhat a Casanova, is loving and gentle and full of love and passion. At one point, I was in love with him and that was when I decide that if I ever have a child, I would name him Eros.

I know that my parents have been giving me a lot of heat about Eros’ name. But we love his name and I think it’s really beautiful despite the origin or the religious overtone it has that contradicts with my parents’ belief.

I just hope one day they will see that Eros is my son and by naming him, I only want the best for him and they will come to respect that.Me and Eros

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

