Posted in Relationship

Am I The Only One With This Problem?

I am not sure I am just overreacting or is it something that annoys every woman.

For me, spending time with Mohen will mean that we sit and talk about nothing in particular, catch up on the nonsense that we’ve been through in that week or just be in each other’s presence. To me, watching TV while I do the dishes doesn’t count as “spending time”.

I know everyone gets tired and need sleep and all that. But why can’t he put in as much effort as I am to stay awake so that we can sit and talk about something – anything. I don’t know if I am asking too much but I think staying awake for at least 2 hours isn’t going to hurt the 5-hours sleeping routine that most working adults have.

It’s frustrating when I only see him about 4 1/2 hours a day, combining the time from he wakes up, have breakfast, getting ready to work and then come home and have dinner before he hits the sack. I bet some of his friends see more of him than I do.

Am I demanding so much? I am not asking him to sit and stare at me or rub my feet for hours or wash my hair or something. It’s work too being at home and cleaning and washing up and taking care of Eros. I get tired too but I can stay up more than 18hours to wait for him to come back just so I could see him for even 15minutes.

I am so sick of wanting to spend time with Mohen but he sleeps or goes out or watches the TV. So he needs entertainment to rest. Can’t he spare some time to talk? It’s not as if I am asking him to take me out for dinner or shopping or anything like that. I just need him to look at me and talk, maybe an hour, if that’s so much to ask for.

I can teach myself not to care about anything that he does because that will mean that I won’t be effected by him not spending time with me despite promising to during his 4 days off. That way he can be out the whole day or not come back for all I care and I wouldn’t be the slightest bit bothered. I can stay home and read and play with Eros and clean the house and wash.

I read this somewhere – WIFE : Washing, Ironing, F***** and etc.

Genius, isn’t it?

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

5 thoughts on “Am I The Only One With This Problem?

  1. Your not alone. Men don’t want to talk to their wives. The WIFE definition is accurate. I learned long ago to satisfy my need for mental stimulation – go elsewhere. I took college courses when the kids were little and write, write, write : )
    Hopefully, someone out in cyberworld can help with the conversation issue.

    Like

  2. It’s so frustrating, isn’t it? I mean, when I try to tell him how I feel, he would turn around and say that I don’t understand how tired he is or how much he is thinking about getting our situation better. I mean, isn’t taking care of our son and doing all the housework isn’t work?

    I too have learnt to keep myself occupy with handiwork and arts & crafts at home.

    I wonder if this issue will ever be solved or is it just men being men? LOL~

    Like

  3. now i know..hehhe..tetibe..
    i know now that men are like that..sigh~makes me scared to get married. sometimes i do think living as a gf-bf gives us more than living as husband-wife.dun u think so? i mean when we just a gf-bf he at least will take us out for movies or dinner or temankan us shopping watsoever. tp bila married..i see most couple dont spend time with their wife the way he should..hmm….wonder y men like that..

    Like

    1. When we were living together as bf/gf, it was better because we didn’t have that obligation for one another. Despite being really in love, there were less problem because we are not tied to each other. I am not saying that being married change things but it will effect you more because you know that you are going to be with each other for the rest of your life and you want to make everything work.

      But it’s something that I think every couple goes through whether or not you are married because relationship doesn’t mean being married. It can get frustrating but it doesn’t mean that we don’t love each other. Hm…I guess it’s something that we will learn along the way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

