Posted in Home Made, Motherhood

Serendipity

Lately I’ve been rather melancholic, that I admit.

I don’t know if it’s the pregnancy hormones (oh, did I tell you I’m 5 months pregnant?! That’s the reason why I’ve been away from blogging for so long as I’ve not been feeling well during the first trimester) or it’s just me being too emotional when it comes to Mohen.

As it was with several weeks ago, he has to work again today. And it’s a Sunday. I believe it takes a real strong willed partner to say  goodbye when the other leaves for work on a weekend. Somehow working on a weekend has a different feeling of loss to it.

I was moping and feeling grumpy for the first few hours when I chanced to talk to my uncle about baking. It strike me that I have means at home to make something rather than sit around and feel sorry for myself, which is not going to do anyone any good especially me. So I got off my bum and started making this delicious pudding.

To be honest, it was something I made up. If you read my earlier post, La table pour deux, s’il vous plait, you will know that I’m someone who has the knack to cook something out of nothing and 9 out of 10 times, when I throw something into the pot, it turns out to be a wonderful dish (Ratatouille’s Chef Gusteau’s “food will always come to those who love to cook” rings at the back of my mind every time when I did something like this).

So to share the serendipitous pudding I make, below is the recipe. Also, if you’ve read the post mentioned above, you would know that I don’t use measurements in my cooking. So I apologize beforehand if it’s any inconvenience to you.

Apple-Mango Bread Pudding With Orange Custard Pecan Sauce

Half an apple, sliced thinly (with or without skin, as desired)
Mango, sliced thinly
Orange juice
Fresh milk
About a teaspoon of custard powder
Cinnamon powder
About a cup of pecan, crushed
Sugar (or condensed milk can be used for extra creamy taste)
About a teaspoon of salted butter
Bread

Method:
1. In a saucepan,  bring to simmer milk, sugar, butter, half cup of pecan and cinnamon powder
2. Gradually add orange juice to taste (orange flavor should be subtle)
3. Sprinkle custard powder so sauce thickens. Stir constantly so sauce won’t curdle
4. Put in sliced apples and cook until apples are soft. Separate and put aside
5. In a separate bowl, mix bread and custard sauce. Soak the bread until all sauce in the bowl is absorbed thoroughly
6. In a serving dish, layer the soaked bread with slices of mangoes and cooked apples alternately. Sprinkle pecan on each layer
7. Chill for at least 8hours before serving
Serves about 4

Homemade apple-mango bread pudding with orange pecan custard sauce
Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

