Posted in Children, Parenting

No Baby, No Talk

I would never ever buy that thing.

Said the pre-relationship pre-mother me 5 years ago.

Now, every time I’m out with Eros, all I can think is one of them baby leashes.

Even now I think some of you might already snickered or raised an eyebrow. How can she even think of using such an inhuman thing on her child? Doesn’t she know the basics of parenting that she needs a leash to hold on to her kid?

Right.

So I’ve read on what people has to say about these baby leashes and generally they’re divided into two groups:

  • A – Those with kids
  • B – Those without kids

Those who are from group A would not jump into any conclusion without first considering the behavior of their child before getting the leash.

Those who are from group B will use profanities on the parents that decided to use the leash on their children. This group’s sole belief is that we are responsible adults who should be able to control our little ones with verbal cues and instructions.

Oh, did I mention that this behavior is exclusive to those from Group B until they have kids and they too become apart of Group A?

A blog written by a 16 year-old girl is riddled with profanities, open accusations on parents’ bad parenting and human rights about the usage of baby leashes. All the while I was reading her blog, I wasn’t even mad that she called us names and many other colorful words. The only thing that was running through my mind was, Girl, you can’t even look after your own mouth, how do I expect you to know how to take care of a kid?

Many of the blog emphasizes on the most basic and natural thing to do if you want to go out with your children – simply hold their hands.

I can only sigh.

It’s sad to see someone who is not a parent giving advice to parents about how to be a parent. When you have an active child who squirms and writhes when you hold their hands, you would know how a simple thing as “simply hold their hands” is not so simple after all. You wouldn’t want to clamp on their wrist with your adult strength lest you hurt the child but you can’t hold it like you’re holding a flimsy, lifeless garden hose.

Verbal cues and instructions?

Don’t make me laugh but let me tell you one thing, sweetheart, they don’t always work.

I don’t want to always tell my kid to sit down when we’re at a restaurant. Sooner or later I’m going to lose my patience and start to raise my voice. I wouldn’t want to be yelling at my kid when we’re about to sit down for a meal together.

I should have practice more patience say you?

Let me put it to you in simpler terms – when you have a crying infant in your arms, an electric toddler jumping on the chair and the whole of the restaurant staring at you while the waitress stands there with one hand on her hip and rolling her eyes each time you tell her what you want between telling your child to sit down and coos at the other one then you can tell me what patience really means.

Read this and you'd know how unpredictable and tough a toddler can be.

My own child has ran right into a wall, smacked into other pedestrians, scraped his knees, ran right across an alley where a car just passed by, missing him by just seconds, and almost tore his arm right clean off from jerking and writhing away from me when I tried to hold his hand.

You think I’m leashing my son like a dog? I say, please do have kids first and then share your opinion. You may still think it’s inhuman to use leash on toddlers even after you had kids.

At least I would respect your views more than I did when you’re just 16 and barely out of your training bras.

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

