Posted in Motherhood

The Science of Poo

When I left blogging, I just had a baby and couldn’t really find the time to write.

Now I’m pregnant. Again. 6 months to be precise.

Of course no one expected me to be expecting this soon but yeah, with all the contraceptive pills you can take and all the rubber you can put on, those things don’t always work.

I didn’t really freak out when I knew I was pregnant as much as I freaked out when I found out I was with child when I had my second baby. I guess because I’m still in that baby mode where my daughter is still little so everything is still in its momentum. Mohen didn’t freak out either. Well, if he is or did, he didn’t show it enough for me to notice.

This time when I was pregnant with my second, I was already hyperventilating about how on earth would I handle two kids? A toddler and a newborn no less (I think you might be able to find a post on this somewhere on my page). And now we’re actually talking about a toddler, a one year old AND a newborn.

I mean, how is that going to ever work?

To be honest, I don’t feel so nervous or scared about handling 3 small kids at one time. What I’m actually worried about is how my obsession for perfection will sometimes get in the way and ruin the whole thing.

In the past 3 years, I have learnt to put aside my perfectionist side and be more lax when handling kids. I know when to get angry, I know when to laugh, I know when to roll my eyes when my son spilled the milk onto the floor, I know when to pull my hair when my daughter started tugging on my skirt while I try to set the table for dinner.

It’s pretty much like how you know your kids.

Sure, there’re still a lot more of them I need and will learn. I mean, we’re only talking about the first 3 years of their lives. What about when they go to school or hit puberty? What about when they started talking about having boyfriends and girlfriends? What about the time when they started to suppose hate me for everything I do? There’s a heck of a lot more to come, but so far, let’s just talk about the toddler years.

I’m not sure about all mothers, but I believe by the time your kid hit their first birthday, we can pretty much tell a lot about them having spent so many hours with them. I wouldn’t say this is exclusive for SHAMs (Stay At Home Moms) just because, well, they’re at home. I know some FTWMs (Full Time Working Moms) who are close and understand their kids just as well as SHAMs do.

It’s what my mother calls The Science of Poo – if you can tell your kid’s health by the smell and color of their poo, you’re all right.

Yes, yes, squirm or gag all you want but being a mother taught me to not be disgusted by the usual disgusting things that grossed out anyone with the average tolerance of foul smell and all things eww.

It is a good thing that I’m not squirmish to start with and I don’t get that turned off by gross things. So when having a baby and having to be up to my elbows in soiled diapers and spit up and puke don’t stressed me out. I’m not like some people that recoil at the mention of the word vomit or poo.

Having majored in, well if you may, The Science of Poop, I’m more relaxed in knowing that I am again pregnant and soon will be with a newborn again, just as I was 12 months ago.

Am I tired? Sure. Will I not do this if I have it the other way? I can’t honestly say.

I was after all on birth control. So I wasn’t looking forward to have another baby so soon but there you go. I did get knocked up again and to be honest, I am happy with this third surprise pregnancy. I realized and understand now that pregnancy, although it’s something that you can try to plan, it’ll always takes your breath away and when it does, it’s a great feeling.

As for the poo, let’s just say I graduated with flying colors.

Someone told me that happy kids are testimonies to how well the mommy is doing. I couldn’t agree more.
Look at how contented my kids are.
Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

One thought on “The Science of Poo

Leave a Reply

