Posted in Home Made, Motherhood

Simple Sugar Donuts!

Preparation time: 1 hour 30 minutes

 Cooking time: 30 minutes

 

My kids were sleepy because of the lazy weather today.

So while they were napping, I was wondering what to do. I was toying with the idea of making another art project (there’s this quote canvas art that I’ve been wanting to do), finish the quilt pillowcase I’m sewing or make some dessert.

I’m thinking of baking cinnamon rolls but it was not something I want to start doing in the middle of a lazy afternoon. But I did feel like having something sweet (I crave a lot of sweet stuffs and anything with almond with this pregnancy!) so I thought, why not sugar donuts?

It has been a while since I have those simple sugar donuts and not those fancy schmancy donuts with buttercream and glaze and chocolate filling or custard cream and all.

So I made me some sugar donuts today and when my kids woke up from their nap, Eros enjoyed these donuts so much I’m tempted to make them again tomorrow!

Here’s what you’ll need:

500g flour (4cups + 2tbsp)
6g yeast (if one pack of yeast is 11g, you can use half of it)
1 tbsp condensed milk
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
275ml water (90z)
Icing sugar for dusting

– Mix salt and condensed milk into the water. Stir well until condensed milk is fully dissolved
– Add yeast to flour
– Pour in the oil and rub it into the flour. Make sure all lumps are gone for the finer the flour without lumps, the fluffier your donuts will be
– Add the milk mixture into the flour and knead. The dough will be extremely sticky at this point but don’t worry. Get the excess flour off from your hand with a spoon
– Leave the dough uncovered for about 20minutes*
– Knead the dough and balled up into small portions to the size of a golf ball
– Flatten the balled up dough to about 1/2 inch thickness
– Punch a hole through with a bottle cap (I used a milk scoop for my kids’ formula. I cut the handle off and use the scoop to punch a hole through the dough)
– Cover the donut dough with damp towel and let rise for 30minutes*
– Deep fry the donuts in enough vegetable oil until golden brown
– Roll the donuts in icing sugar to coat it before serving

*I live in a warm country where the weather is humid all year long.

I read in a cookbook once that in colder countries, you may need to let the dough rise for a slightly longer time. I can’t really say how long you need to let it rise for this recipe but I think an extra 5-10minutes wouldn’t hurt?

Homemade sugar donuts – so fluffy and soft you’ll love it!
Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

