Posted in DIY, Motherhood

Handmade Baby Block

So I’m really into this sewing craze at the moment!

I was looking for things to do because there wasn’t much housework to be done today. I didn’t feel like making another of those monogram letters although I did feel like sewing something.

There were a few bells that I saved from Sophia’s old baby rattle and as I was looking around inside my sewing kit box, I thought I could use them for something tonight.

So after a few minutes of making sure that I have enough material, I made my very own (and first!) handmade baby block!

Took me about 2hours to complete it because I handstitched it. If you were using a sewing machine, then this wouldn’t take you more than 30 – 40 minutes tops, depending on your sewing skills, of course.

This shouldn’t be really hard, I think, even if you’re a beginner. In fact, I think if you’re a beginner, this would probably be one of the simplest thing to try.

1. Cut 6 pieces of fabric into squares. You can have them as big or as little as you like.

2. Sew the pieces together with their right sides facing each other.

3. Continue to sew to attach the fabric together to create one long piece. Sew the ends together so you’ll have something like this.

4. Now sew the top of the block, starting at one corner and making your way around the 4 sides of the fabric.

5. Once you got all the sides done, turn the block right side out and put your stuffing inside. As you can see, I already got the polyester stuffing I was talking about last week! Yay, me!

You can also put in bells or any noisy toys here along with the stuffing. I put in the bell I saved from Sophia’s rattle.

6. Close up the final side of the block with the ladder stitch or the invisible seam.

Here’s Sophia with her new baby block. She loves to shake it and dance to the jingle of the bell!

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

2 thoughts on “Handmade Baby Block

Leave a Reply

