Posted in General, Motherhood, Parenting, Relationship

My Why

I’ve been trying to complete my book for almost a year now.

I’ve read enough about real-life stories of aspiring and published authors alike and I know that writing doesn’t happen in one night. And most of the time it’s a work in progress.

There are enough quotes and anecdotes about writing for everyone to know that writing may not necessarily comes that easily. Heck, even wordpress offers you quotes on writing each time you have successfully posted a new post.

The thing is, the more that I write, the more that I realized that I can’t bring myself to really write my book because it’s turning out to be about all the grudges that I’ve hold against Mohen all this while.

I don’t think it’s really because I have something to share. It’s just because I need to get things off my chest. Which is something that I’ve been doing here anyway. So if I can let off some steam through my blog, why should I write a book.

The thing is, writing a book is different. And I know it.

It’s a book.

For a bibliophile like me, the word “book” itself already feels…magical and the phrase “I’m writing a book” just send chills down my spine.

Sometimes I think just because I’m experiencing something and I feel it bottling up in me that doesn’t mean I need to exactly write about it. Maybe other people are feeling the same way about their life, their partners, their ups and downs but they are not writing books about it.

They deal with it.

Well, maybe this is the way I deal with it.

Like Mohen said, I am at my best when I write. I can say certain things the exact way someone is feeling. I have enough guts to say what others only dream of sharing with someone. I am able to make people see with what I write.

I know I am not writing for fame. I know I am not writing just so I can be a best-selling author.

I write because that’s all I know. There is nothing more to me than writing and if I don’t write, I don’t feel complete. I feel like I’ve been locked up in a basement for a long time.

Maybe it’ll be a good thing for me to write this book.

I have personally known 3 other women who are going through the same thing I am going through and experience almost all the things I write about. Maybe they know 3 other women who are in the same situation as we are. And that 3 know another 3.

So maybe there is a chance for my book to reach them and make them feel that for once, there is something out there that make sense to them because someone is writing about it.

Writing

I know I owe this book to myself because not only I have been wanting to have a book published since I was 10 but also because while I know that I can’t be the only one who feels this way, what if I am the only one (or, to be less pompous, at least one of the few) that dare enough to write about it.

I know I have to write this book.

If not for anything else, it’s for me.

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

