Posted in Motherhood, Parenting

Coping Prelude

So we’re back to our own house for the weekend.

Mohen gets 2 days off from work this week so he brought us home. I jumped at the idea because one, I miss my house, second, I want to see what’s like to be doing all the housework without any help from my mother and sisters.  I want to acclimatize myself before I return for good end of this month.

Six hours into the job I thought I’m losing my mind.

First thing I did was to clean up the kitchen and get it ready for me to work  in during these 4 days. Although Mohen didn’t keep the kitchen the way I did, I was really glad that it was clean and in proper order enough without me having to do much. I love how he keeps the rest of the house spotless too.

After I’ve put away the luggage and the groceries, it was time for the kids’ dinner. I thought I was doing okay because I managed to get everything done in time before the kids get hungry. Then I heard Damien’s cry.

I forgot that now I have 3 kids to look after and one is just a wee baby of 5 weeks.

Even with Mohen’s help, I still feel like I was suffocating. I thought I was going crazy trying to meet each of my kid’s need. And all of a sudden they seem to want something different at the same time. Had it not been for Mohen’s being around, I would’ve call my mother to come and pick us up to go back to her place.

It’s going to be day 3 tomorrow.

I hope I will fair better.

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

