Posted in Motherhood, Parenting, Relationship

Just Us

We will be 5 years together this May. Or at least 5 years in a full committed relationship.

I think I knew Mohen close to 7 years now. Yeah, I’m pretty sure it’s 7 years. It’s amazing how things turned out for the both of us.

Our first photo together during our office annual dinner.
We weren’t even each other’s date that night but somehow we ended up hanging out with each other a lot that night!

When we met, we never thought we would be where we are right now; in a relationship serious enough to have 3 kids out of. Although there were several pretty rough patch that we went through, I would say that I’m having an amazing time with him.

I met Mohen when I wasn’t looking for anything serious. In fact I wasn’t looking for anything at all. We just happened to meet at the smoking area of our previous office and, well, as cliche as this may sound, there rest is just history.

People always say familiarity breeds contempt.

I don’t really know what that means. I mean, I know what it means. But I don’t think I really know what it implies. I suppose when you’re too familiar with a person and you’ve let your guards down or, in the words of Robin Williams in Good Will Hunting – we get to choose who we let into our weird little worlds. His imperfections are just apart of him that I accepted and my eccentricities are probably part of my charm.

We’ve sort of drifted apart these few weeks. Nothing serious but we both know it’s because we have another baby and that keeps me busy and occupied a large part of my time and he’s as always occupied with work. We still talk and laugh and poke fun at each other but we can tell it’s a little different from what we usually have.

It’s not hard being young parents with small kids. There’s just so much that we need to learn and get used to that sometimes we feel as though we have nothing in common anymore. The parenting duties in our household sometimes seems to be so distinctly divided – him working and me doing pretty much everything else at home. Mohen does help around a lot during weekends and even though that eases my job a little as a mom, I would like to have more time with him the way I used to.

We used to go out a lot before we are seriously attached.

I believe in date nights and thank God, so does Mohen.

We’re overdue for our date night for months now. To be honest, I can’t even remember the last time we went out just the two of us. That’s how long ago it was!

I know we’re so in love and are still crazy about each other. I just hope things get settled pretty soon because I can’t wait to go dancing with him again.

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

2 thoughts on “Just Us

  1. i know exactly how you feel, it’s so easy to lose each other when you’re busy 24/7 with the children. by the time you’ve sorted them out you’re drained of energy to enjoy your partner’s company. i hope you will slowly find each other again…patience and understanding crucial at this stage, been thru it myself. all the best.

    Like

    1. People always says that children bring couple together but sometimes I feel they are keeping us apart.

      Insya Allah everything will surely be okay soon because I know we miss each other and understand the current situations because all of our 3 kids are still so small. Once they grow up and have each other’s agenda, we’d probably miss them! Hahahaha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

