Posted in Motherhood, Parenting

Confronting Mommy Guilt

Beautiful post on overcoming the infamous “Mommy Guilt”.

Organic Melinda

I never really felt loved as a child.  Perhaps, this is the sentiment of many middle children – the older kid gets the attention, and when it’s your turn, another kid is born.

As excited as I was to be a big sister when my baby brother was born, I felt cheated  by the lack of attention my mother was able to afford me.

Naturally, then, when my daughter was born, I, often, feared that she would feel as unloved as I did growing up.

I felt like I had to spend every waking moment of my day by her side, and needing a break or leaving her with someone else was selfish.  After all, I birthed her. She was MY responsibility, right? And, I wanted her to feel loved!

Regardless of how far feminism has come, women are still the primary parents, in my experience, during the early stages…

View original post 1,440 more words

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

One thought on “Confronting Mommy Guilt

Leave a Reply

