Posted in General

Why I Hate Capital FM: An open letter

While I don’t listen to Capital FM (or any specific station at that), I find this writer’s arguments to be completely valid and appropriate for “women” issue everywhere.

I love this part the most:
“The news that you report about, largely focuses on rape, snatch theft, crimes against women, and the focus is understandable- it’s a women’s station. But I would also like to know what the national/ international discussion is, I want to know about politics, I also want to know about sport, and gadgets, stocks, business and market trends. Are you trying to tell me that because I’m a woman, I’m too dumb to be able to consume this type of content?”

Almost every Women section of any magazine/newspaper I read always talk about make up, men, sex, cooking and home decorating. We have more Rosa Parks in Malaysia than we know and we’re not giving them enough credit. And if this trend continues, we never will.

Tee Jowee

(This is going to be a long one)

An open letter to Capital FM:

Dear Capital FM,

I’ve been thinking for a long time now and mulling over writing this, first because I don’t think merely writing about an issue would lead to direct, conducive change, it takes more than that, and I’m looking for more. My efforts now at most would raise the discussion and get some members of society to get some thinking going on. I’ve since come to adopt this as my purpose for writing.

Secondly, “Hate” is a strong word, but I used it in the title because I feel strongly about this issue. It’s dangerous to continue what you’re doing Capital FM; dangerous because this station represents the very opposite of what equality is, what women’s rights are, what feminism is and what women are, despite claiming to champion these things, and continuing to do…

View original post 1,418 more words

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

