Posted in Motherhood

Busy Bee Little Me!

I can’t believe how hectic things have been for the past few months.

As some of you might already know, I’m a freelance writer and I’ve got an offer to be an editor for a Malaysian parenting website.

I get to meet a lot of interesting writers and bloggers out there because one of my tasks is to involve more parents and build an online community for the Malaysian parenting scene. It was challenging at first because I don’t know what to do or how to handle my schedule. The great thing about this is that I get to work from home! I don’t have to leave my kids to go and work in an office and I can schedule my time according to my other household routines, as long as I still meet my deadlines. As much as it was crazy the first few weeks I got the job, it was such a great thing to do because not only I get to do what I love (things that involve writing and meeting people), I also get to do it right in my living room.

 

I don’t know why I still prefer to write on paper even with all the online apps and software and stuff that I can use to make my work easier.

 

June is also a hectic month for me personally because my sister is going to get married in August. I have no idea how could she be getting married when she’s only 8! Since Ramadhan is coming, my mom wants us to get as many things ready as possible because do you know how much work there is to prepare for a wedding? It’s insane. Makes me wonder why anyone wants to get married at all! Oh, wait. I’ve been there. It’s the stress excitement of preparing for the wedding that made it part of the fun. Every weekend I have to go to my mom’s place and help her with bits of here and there before the wedding day arrives. It feels like I‘m living between two houses because before the week ends, I have to go to my mom’s house and just when I thought I’m starting to be helpful around the house, I have to come back home because I need to concentrate on my house as well. It’s nuts!

 

During one of the ceremonies leading up to my sister’s (the one in white robe) wedding.

The kids have been doing great as well. I think they had a bad few weeks too when I first got the editor job because I was literally running from the kitchen to my work station and I think I might have neglected their snack time once or twice during that few bad weeks. But they’re okay now. Or at least they’re not starving or anything. We celebrated Eros birthday few months ago and Sophea is going through her last stages of Terrible Two and reminding us of what Terrifying Three is like. Damien, albeit the most laid-back one among the three, is slowly but surely picking up cues from his brother and sister. Damien’s current favorite word: NO.

 

I don’t know why, but Eros and Sophea are always making faces whenever I take their photos now.

 

But one of the best highlights, well, for me at least, is that I’ve lost 10kg since April!

I’ve started doing Joey Atlas’ lower body workout called¬†The Ultimate Leg, Butt, Hip & Thigh Makeover for about 3 months now and I’ve also started yoga about 1 1/2 month now. I was just doing the lower body workout because I want to fit into my dress during my sister’s wedding. But when I started to see results, I got encouraged and decided to do yoga again. I said again because I used to go to the gym with my friend when I was 18 for a yoga class. She joined the gym and got a package where she pays only half price if she could bring a friend. Obviously I tagged along because then I did everything together with my friend. Then I wasn’t the least interested in yoga, but now, I love it. My sister saw that I was making so much progress, she even got me a proper yoga mat. Before I was just using my kids’ playmat.

Dropped 10kg since end of April and I can fit into my size 14 jeans again! Just another 5kg to go!

 

I guess that’s a lot about me, don’t you think?

So what’s new with you? Would love to hear what you’ve been up to!

 

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

