Posted in General, Parenting

Roaring with The Royals: Discovering Dinosaurs at Dinoscovery

I have always, always been fascinated by dinosaurs.

Growing up watching Indiana Jones and Jurassic Park gave me the right push I needed to start reading and finding out as much as I could about dinosaurs. However, when I was about ready to go to college in a few years, my dad said no when I told him my intentions of studying paleontology.

So long story short; when Eros started to show interest in dinosaurs few years ago, I was the first person to leap into the air.

I pestered Mohen to get as many books and toys on dinosaurs as we possibly could. I didn’t want Eros to feel that I was stopping him from liking what he likes, but Mohen cautioned me not to push it too far down his throat. I was excited to know that my son is most likely to share my love for dinosaurs and I can’t wait to talk about our favorite dinosaurs (yes, I already daydream that he becomes a paleontologist one day); still, I know where Mohen was coming from.

We want to encourage what our kids like to do without being too overbearing that they might feel we’re forcing them. We want them to discover their passion on their own. All we wanted to do is to expose them to as many things as we could so they can pick one that they like the most.

Mohen is on a long holiday because he wanted to be at home on his birthday (which is coming up reaaaalllll soon!) and also he wants to be able to watch the World Cup without having to worry to wake up early the next day. Since he’s at home for several long weeks, I thought we’ll bring the kids out for something fun to do because God knows when was the last time we went out.

I went online and started searching for few things we could do with our kids and I came across Discoveria at Avenue K.

I know Avenue K can be accessed from KLCC and it will be packed especially during weekend, but Mohen is on leave so I decided we should go first thing Sunday morning. There will be less people there because who wakes up that early on a Sunday anyway? Plus, we’re going with my uncle, whom I owe a date with my kids because he’s their favorite granduncle and he hasn’t seen them in a long time too. My kids tend to listen to my uncle more whenever we go out so no problem there.

What am I talking about? Oh, didn’t I tell you?

THERE IS A DINOSAURS EXHIBITION, RIGHT HERE IN KUALA LUMPUR!

To be honest, I don’t know how many there have been in KL, but the last one I went was when I was 8 and it was in Isetan if I’m not mistaken. So naturally, I’m more excited than the kids.

Discoveria is an interactive venue with ever-changing exhibits and currently, they’re showcasing Dinoscovery. I mean, dinosaur animatronics? Dino treasure hunt? Excavating fossils? This is something I have to bring my kids to.

Discoveria Avenue K is on 4th floor of Avenue K and it was easy enough to find (hint: There are dinosaurs’ footprint stickers on the mall’s floor to help you!)

 

The kids were already shrieking the moment they saw the entrance to Dinoscovery and yes, to be honest, I did too.

 

Eros and Sophea couldn’t be bothered with taking photos because they can’t wait to enter.

 

Inside, before you begin your dinoscovery, you’re given a paleontologist vest to put on, a wristband and a map. With these gears on, you’re all set to start your hunt for dino treasures. Sadly, I couldn’t take photos at this point.

 

A map to guide you so you won’t get lost in time!

 

Inside, you need to follow the path which leads you to all the dinosaurs inside and teach you on what you need to know about them. Among the dinosaurs featured is the velociraptor, stegosaurus, diplodocus, triceratops (my favorite dinosaur!) and Eros’ favorite, the T-Rex.

They were a little scared at first because of the roars of the dinosaurs, but after they saw that Mohen and I weren’t afraid, they started to enjoy it and even dared to venture away from us a little. I think it was me who Mohen had to control because I can’t wait to discover the clues for the treasure hunt!

 

Dinoscovery Exhibit 1
Pachycephalosaurus [pāk’ĭ-sěf’ə-lə-sôr’əs], whose name means “the thick-headed lizard”.
Among all the dinosaurs, the kids were afraid of the spinosaurus the most. I mean, look at those mean teeth. I don’t blame them.

 

riding the dinosaur
I think was the only over-excited adult in this place. I wanted to bring this guy home!

 

This is the kids’ favorite activity – the fossil excavation pit! With a brush and a bucket, they need to excavate the sand pit for dinosaurs fossil. Heads up: There’re more than 3 fossils in this sand pit, so be ready to stay a while because if your kids are like mine, they want to find them all!

 

Eros and Sophea calling for help as brontosaurus towers above them.

 

Overall, the place is awesome. There are many more interactive activities inside, but cameras are prohibited so I could only take photos where I was allowed to.

However, as a parent of young children, I do feel the place was a tad too dark for kids.

I can see why it can be a little intimidating or even scary for little children. The sound effect was good – dinosaur roars and screeches and rustling treetops, but I guess for kids who are already spooked out by the dark and the idea of dinosaurs waiting for them there, it didn’t really help them much to feel better about the place.

You’re also given a headlamp when you begin the dinoscovery and I guess that’s why the place was a little bit dark because otherwise you won’t be able to feel as though you’re on an adventure. I speak based my kids’ experience here, of course, but the dark made them a little scared to venture much, which I can feel they really wanted to. There is a brontosaurus outside the exhibit area, where it was well-lit and my kids had no problem approaching it without either me or Mohen.

My kids have been watching documentaries and movies about dinosaurs ever since they were growing up and they were super excited to be here, but I guess nothing prepared them for an up-close experience such as this one. It took them some time to break in into the place and it didn’t help it that the dinosaurs tower above them by a good 4-5 feet, some even more! So if your kids get scared easily or they don’t like scaly creepy crawlies, then I suggest you to be ready to hold on to them.

But, at least for the first 30 minutes or so.

Because once my kids see that the dinosaurs can’t move and not going to pounce on them, I had to focus on telling them not to try and climb on the dinosaurs!

 

Gift shop. There are so many cute dinosaurs memorabilia that I had to stop myself – I mean, the kids from trying to get them all!

 

We all had fun that day and personally, I don’t mind going again because I think the kids would probably enjoy it more the second time. Plus, I had too good a time not to go again!

—————–

This exhibition is open daily from 10am to 10pm and it runs until February 2015. For more information and ticket purchases, you can check out this link or visit Discoveria on Facebook.

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

2 thoughts on “Roaring with The Royals: Discovering Dinosaurs at Dinoscovery

Leave a Reply

