Posted in Children, DIY, Home Made, Parenting

DIY Play Dough

Preparation time: 5 – 15 minutes
Rest: 1 hour

I’ve pinned the recipe to this DIY play dough on my Pinterest for ages, but I’ve never really gotten around to doing it. One of the main reasons is that because I don’t want to mess it up and end up throwing out a batch of flour.

However, the other day a friend posted on her Facebook on how she made it for her daughter and it turned out great. Finally, I decided I should try it.

And I really should’ve done it a long time ago. My kids were literally occupied for 3 hours straight!

If you ever doubt it, I suggest you try it right away because it really is that easy and yes, foolproof.

DIY play dough

Here’s what you need:

1 cup of flour
1/4 cup of fine salt
1 cup of warm water
Few drops of food coloring

1. Mix the flour and salt
2. Make a well and add the warm water. Drop in a few drops of food coloring depending on how bright or pale you want the color of the dough to be
3. Mix everything into a dough with a spoon until you get the right texture

I love to bake and I love kneading dough with my hands. So what I did was, halfway through, I took out the dough and knead with my hands. If you’re accustomed to baking pies or bread, just knead as you would with a bread or pie crust dough.

Dust your work station and knead. You can sprinkle with flour as you go if you find the dough to be too sticky. Once you got the right pliability, you can let it rest.

Note: The dough will be stickier than the store-bought Play Dough because of the hot water. Don’t worry too much about it because once the dough cools, it will be exactly (if not better!) than the commercial product.

DIY play dough

Storage: My friend advised me to keep it in a Ziploc and put it in the fridge so that’s what I did. I kept the dough in the fridge at around 7pm and now it’s almost 3am. I just checked the dough and obviously it’s hard, but the great thing is that it’s not crumbly. So I guess I will have to take it out for a few hours before I let the kids play with it.

I also tried to wrap it in cling wrap just as I would when I’m resting my cooking dough in the fridge. It works just the same if you don’t have a Ziploc. And if you don’t have a cling wrap, I sometimes use this trick: Use any groceries shopping plastic bag, put the dough in and tightly twist the bag around the dough. I then tie it with a strong rubber band to seal it in. Works just the same as wonderful!

Cleanup: This is surprisingly really easy. The kids dropped bits and pieces of the dough onto the floor and it sort of hardened up. But just by rubbing my toe on it, I was able to sweep it off the floor and it doesn’t leave any greasy mark behind. I dusted the table on which they played the dough with corn starch. There were dough on the table sticking to the table even with the starch, but using a damp cloth, I was able to wipe them all away because the dough just dissolved.

After all this, I will never buy the commercial Play Dough. Ever again. And yes, I’m still kicking myself in the rear for not making this dough sooner. Hahahaha.

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

Leave a Reply

