Posted in General

Barbie Cake

I first saw one of these cakes when I was 10, during a cousin’s birthday party.

I was so envious and couldn’t stop looking at the cake throughout the party. My parents are never big on birthdays and we don’t really celebrate so it’s kind of hard for us to get a birthday cake. By 10, I was used to it, but when I saw this cake, I honestly wished my parents were a little generous in celebrating birthdays.

Today is my daughter’s 4th birthday.

She didn’t ask for a Barbie cake specifically, but whenever she sees one, she always asked me to make one for her. So yesterday, I decided to try and make it. I’m used to baking, but I have never tried decorating a Barbie cake before so I was really, really anxious because being a perfectionist, I obviously don’t want to mess this up.

I worked on this cake for 6 hours, taking my time to do each step. At the end of it, I’m really happy with myself because it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. The only thing is, I forgot to take my piping tips I left at my mom’s house so I had to use a snipped Ziploc to pipe the dress. Even so, I’m still darn proud of it!

Princess doll cake

 

I watched the Betty Crocker video for the step by step to decorate this cake and I find that video most helpful and easiest to understand.

 

Now that I know how to decorate this cake, I’m so going to make it again for the fun of it!

Author:

A feminist mother of 3 who thinks she can write.

One thought on “Barbie Cake

Leave a Reply

