Bath & Body Works Candles Review For Dummies: 5 Ultimate Favourites

I’m a little late to the Bath & Body Works candles scene.

Despite being obsessed with candles since I was about 15, I thought I might wait a while to see what’s the fuss is all about. Then one day a colleague brought one to the office and I fell in love with the scent that I thought it’s finally time for me to try them.

I’ve come to know that Bath & Body Works carries many different scents, but I just wasn’t prepared to be overwhelmed with just how many there are! At first blush, it looks like I want to try every scent because they all look like they would smell good. But let’s face it, I think it’s really in their fancy names and pretty labels that grab you.

Since there are many different scents, it only makes sense I break this review into parts. So for starters, it makes sense to me to start with my ultimate favourite candles from Bath & Body Works. *Just heads up, I’m more into creamy, vanilla, sugary, coconutty, berries scents. So most of the candles I review would be more from these notes.

And I call this review For Dummies because I hope to review these candles in a way that is the simplest for others to understand.

While most of the reviews I read are helpful, many of them are filled with words I’m unable to imagine such as crystal peony or heirloom mahogany or like a walk through spring forest. Not only there is no spring where I am (Malaysia) to start with, I also have a somewhat limited olfactory vocabulary, so it’s a little hard for me to imagine things such as what sugared sandalwood smells like. *I will still list the scents in each candle because I know there are people out there who know/can imagine the scents.

I hope this review will help you decide which scent to choose for your living space!


1. For Classy Elegance

Bath & Body Works BBW candle A Thousand Wishes

A Thousand Wishes

Main notes: Champagne, Starfruit
Throw: Strong

Among all the candle scents I’ve tried, I have to say this is my favourite. I believe many people love it too because it’s almost always out of stock. Not only I love the name, I also love the label and colours.

When I first smell it, it reminds me of hotels with comforting and welcoming scent. It’s not overpowering or too heady. The champagne and star fruit scent is combined with the golden quince, a fruit that is closely related to apples and pears. It does smell like you’re having champagne with a plate of fruits!

While this is my top favourite, I must say the heart note is not really to my liking. But it’s only because I personally don’t like the smell of freesia. But the peony, which is one of my favourite flowers and scents, is truly wonderful that I can live with the freesia. After several hours, the lingering scent ends with amber, almond cream, sandalwood and slight musk. It’s these clever combinations that make A Thousand Wishes my most favourite scent from Bath & Body Works.

Top notes: Champagne, star fruit, golden quince
Heart notes: Peony, purple freesia
End notes: Amber, almond cream, sandalwood, musk

When lit: Strong throw with brief lingering smell
When using candle warmer: Strong throw with almost none lingering smell

2. For Something Truly Sweet & Sugary

Bath & Body Works BBW candle Blueberry Sugar

Blueberry Sugar

Main notes: Blueberries, Brown sugar
Throw: Very strong

This is that one scent I believe its name truly describes the scent. After several candles from BBW, I’ve come to learn that the names sometimes gives you no idea whatsoever of its scent. Not this one.

My sister said it’s too sweet for her because yes, the sugary smell is very distinct, but I love it. It reminds me of freshly crushed blueberries. My other sister said it smells like baked blueberry pie to her, but I can’t really smell it. However, it’s possible that you might smell the scent of baked blueberry pie because there is graham cracker crust in this candle. To me, it smells more like a crumble than a pie, and I think it’s because of the brown sugar scent. So yes, to be fair, there is a hint of baked goods. I usually put this on when I’m stressed because I bake when I’m stress and this candle helps me destress without really having to bake something.

Top note: Fresh blueberries
Heart note: Brown sugar
End note: Graham cracker crust

When lit: Very strong throw with long lingering smell
When using candle warmer: Strong throw with very long lingering smell

3. For That Pâtisserie Aroma

Bath & Body Works BBW candle Paris Cafe

Paris Café

Main notes: Roasted coffee, Vanilla
Throw: Moderate-Strong

Speaking of baking, this is my go to candle for that coffee and café scent. There are other coffee-scented candles from BBW, but for me, this is the most comforting, warm-fuzzy-feeling candle.

While its throw is moderate compared to the first two, I feel it has a more lingering heart note so my living room still has that café smell a few hours after the candle is put out. To keep its café feel, there is also vanilla and brioche scents so you can expect to smell baked goods as well. But to me, as someone who is crazy about anything and everything vanilla, it’s too vague to detect compared to the brioche, which is as distinct as the roasted coffee beans.

It’s fair to note that some of my friends said this smells more like burnt coffee beans than roasted ones, but I guess it depends on how you like your coffee? I’ve smelled stronger roasted coffee beans in a Starbucks and to me, this doesn’t smell burnt. It’s strong yes, but I don’t believe it smells burnt. As to its name, I can’t attest whether it truly smells like a Paris café or not as I’ve never been to a Paris café before. Perhaps I’ll come back to this review once I’ve been to a Paris café, eh?

Top note: Roasted coffee beans
Heart note: Toasted brioche
End note: Vanilla beans

When lit: Moderate throw with long lingering smell
When using candle warmer: Moderate-Strong throw with long lingering smell

4. For A Romantic Warmth

Bath & Body Works BBW candle Black Cherry Merlot

Black Cherry Merlot

Main notes: Black cherry, Raspberry
Throw: Strong-Moderate

I don’t really know my wine, but I know that this doesn’t exactly smell like merlot. It has a hint of wine, but what you get most is the black cherry smell, which is very strong. But not too strong to give you that heady feeling cherries scent can sometimes give you.

There is a sugary smell in there somewhere, but it’s not the same sugary smell you get from Blueberry Sugar. To me, it’s more of that comforting sugary smell you get in a cotton candy stand. But one thing for certain, the combination of black cherry and red raspberry really does have the romantic warmth scent. This is my favourite candle to put on when it rains because somehow that earthy rain smell goes perfectly well with the scent this candle releases.

Top note: Black cherry
Heart note: Sugary merlot
End note: Red raspberry

When lit: Strong-Moderate throw with brief lingering smell
When using candle warmer: Strong throw with long lingering smell

5. For Movie Night Feel

Bath & Body Works BBW candle Summer Boardwalk

Summer Boardwalk

Main notes: Caramel popcorn, Taffy apple
Throw: Strong

There is no boardwalk here in Malaysia and the closest we have are piers along the beach. And a walk along these usually give you salty, murky sea smell. But if I were to imagine a summer boardwalk, then I would say there would be the smell of popcorns, corndogs, cotton candy, and waffles.

And Summer Boardwalk candles do have that caramel popcorn scent. However, it’s not too natural so you might detect a little artificial scent when you light this one. As artificial as the caramel popcorn scent is, it’s not overpowering or overwhelming so you do get the comfort and warmth of popcorns, which always remind me of being at the movie concession. I also love the taffy apples scent as it adds a little smoky, mild baked goods scent to your space. There is a hint of sweet cream lurking somewhere so it also reminds me of a warm drink during cold nights.

Top note: Caramel popcorn
Heart note: Taffy apples
End note: Sweet cream

When lit: Strong throw with brief lingering smell
When using candle warmer: Strong-Moderate throw with long lingering smell


You may have noticed that I reviewed the candles when they’re lit or when used with a candle warmer. While I personally prefer and almost always use a candle warmer, I always test my candles both ways because I feel there is a difference when the candle is lit or when it’s warmed. Plus, testing them both ways give me a better idea on a candle’s scent and performance.

Bath & Body Works BBW candle candle warmer

If you have never used a candle warmer before, I strongly suggest you get one.

I am all for candle warmer because not only it’s safer around kids (I have three, all under 15, who sometimes kick a ball around the house), I love how the warmth of the lamp slowly melts the candle, gently releasing the scent to allow you to truly enjoy it. Candle warmers also adds such a great ambiance to your space!

For Malaysian readers,I got mine here.

I look forward to reviewing more candles soon. In the meantime, let me know which one of BBW candle is your favourite!

Leave a comment